Hummingbird just flew in!

August 2, 2012

I’m totally pumped that my new novel Hummingbird has finally been released! It’s the sometimes exciting, sometimes sweet, sometimes scary story of Lexa Morales.

The back-cover blurb goes like this:
“She feels like a misfit. Who is she? Where does she belong? Is she Lexa, Alexandra, or someone else?
Forced to commit a crime, she flees south of the Border–and a vindictive bounty hunter follows her.
Will she escape? Find redemption? Learn who she really is and where she belongs?
The answer lies hidden in a tiny seaside village where wandering hummingbirds rest their wings.”

Lexa is Mexican by ethnicity and American at heart, but feels more like the dash between the words that compose the term Mexican-American than anything else. In her struggle to arise from the ghetto of her youth, Lexa commits a crime and flees south of the Border. While hiding from bounty hunters in a small fishing village, she encounters spiritual forces powerful enough to transform her perspective, identity and life.

It’s a fun and uplifting read I think you will enjoy. You can find it on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and iBooks etc. Thanks for checking it out!

5 Responses to “Hummingbird just flew in!”

  1. LB Bradford said

    WOW – can I get a copy outside of a Kindle?
    Some of us still like to hold the printed word in hand.

    LB

    • tropikbird said

      Print books will be out about the third week of September. Takes them longer to get those done for some reason or other…

    • tropikbird said

      The publisher tells me that the print version won’t come out until at least November. Sorry about that. Evidently print versions take a lot more time to publish :-/

  2. teela said

    I won an e-copy of The Hummingbird on The Barn Door Loft, but do not have an ereader!!! YIKES….is there any way I might get a hard copy of this? (also, I just LOVE the jacket on this book!!!)
    If not, could you tell me how to download this maybe onto my laptop to read???
    I’ve looked at your blog and love the fact that you are following Christ in a foreign country. My husband is a pastor and we’ve followed Christ’s leading to our very first bivocational pastorate (church has about 30 or so)…extremely different…
    Blessings,
    Teela

    • tropikbird said

      Hi Teela,

      I just got an update from the publisher, who told me that the print books won’t be out before November. Bummer. But there’s no need to wait–you can definitely read the Kindle version on your laptop; it’s the way I read most novels these days, even though I have a Kindle Fire. (I like the big, bright laptop screen and the way it fits on my lap.) There’s a Kindle App you can download from Amazon here:
      Be sure to email me at http://www.tropikbird@gmail.com for the book download, once you have your app download, and I’ll send the book to you. (You’ll need to set up an Amazon account, but it’s free.)
      And thanks for the compliment about the cover–I shot the pic and designed the cover myself–how often does the publisher let a writer do that? I feel blessed :-)

Leave a Reply

