Guest Post with Author-Blogger Carol Howell

September 17, 2012

 

Does God Love Me Just Like I Am?

Sep 10, 2011

That, my friend, is a good question.  It is also a question I have spent quite a bit of time exploring.  In fact, I wrote a book titled If My Body Is A Temple, Why Am I Eating Doughnuts? .  Through this book the reader is led to discover scriptures telling us of God’s love for us “no matter what size we are or what size we are NOT”.  I know about this first hand.  I have lost 100 pounds, and I fight and struggle daily to lose the remaining 25 pounds that are clinging to my hips and thighs.

Yet, I am convinced of God’s love like I have never been before.  I love the way Craig Groeschel puts it in his book The Christian Atheist.  He says, “There is nothing you can do to make God love you more.  And there is nothing you can do to make God love you less.  Love is not something God does.  It is who God is.  And because of who God is, God loves you.  Period.”  That so clearly explains things for me.  Isaiah 49:15 tells us “Even those may forget, but I will not forget you.”  God loves us way too much to ever forget us.  That scripture did not say He would never forget us if we wore a size 8 jeans (which is what I wish I wore), or if our hair were a certain color and style.  The scriptures teach us, repeatedly, that God loves us just like we are.

The next time the mirror or the scales disappoint you, remember God’s love for us.  Yes, He wants us to be the very best we can be, but He loves us to pieces (that’s a good Southern phrase).  As Leighton Ford put it, “God loves us the way we are, but too much to leave us that way.”  Celebrate God’s love for you today!

 

Check out Carol’s latest book “If My Body Is A Temple, Why Am I Eating Doughnut” at Amazon.com and other fine retailers!

Leave a Reply

